21 SEO Mistakes You Need to Avoid in 2023

Nick Nolan
7 min readFeb 11, 2023
Image from Canva | via NadyaPhoto

In all of my years building websites and doing SEO, I’ve never seen a perfect website. There’s always room for improvement.

On the same note — some websites are far worse than others.

Even in the past few weeks, I’ve audited websites that should probably be scraped and started from scratch because it’d be faster than trying to fix the issues.

There are big and small SEO mistakes, and no one is immune to them (including myself).

Last week, I deleted a page on one of my websites. I didn’t realize that there were other pages with links to that page. Today, someone clicked the broken link and went to the 404 error page. I only knew about it because I was looking at Google Analytics at the time.

That’s a relatively small mistake, but it’s still something you should fix.

Here’s a list of 21 SEO mistakes I’ve seen recently, and how you can fix them on your website.

1. Unreadable homepage content

On one of the very first websites I built, I uploaded an image as the hero section of my website. I didn’t know how else to get the text and background the way I wanted.

That made all of that text unreadable, so Google had no clue what my website was about.

--

--

Nick Nolan

Freelance marketing consultant | Writing about Copywriting, SEO, and Social Media