A Simple Guide to Internal Links

Nick Nolan
5 min readNov 3, 2022
Photo by Sophie Louisnard on Unsplash

Internal links are one of the greatest low-effort, high-impact SEO tasks. This is a topic that is also ignored by most people sharing SEO tips.

When people talk about links, it’s all about the backlinks. Interlinks on your site are super important, and this is something you can’t afford to ignore.

I spent most of my day strategically interlinking one of my client’s websites. I added 100+ internal links within the site. I can’t share the results yet (because I haven’t seen them) but I know it will help get more traffic to their website.

I want to share the importance of building internal links on your website, and how to do it the right way.

What are internal links?

Internal links are links connecting one page on your website to another page on the same site.

Wikipedia is the king of internal linking.

If you go to any Wikipedia page, there are TONS of links to other Wikipedia pages.

Look at the Wikipedia page for Internal Link:

Source: Wikipedia

--

--

Nick Nolan

Freelance marketing consultant | Writing about Copywriting, SEO, and Social Media