How To Find High-Quality Expired Domains

Nick Nolan
5 min readMay 6, 2023
Screenshot from expireddomains.net

Finding expired domains is a great way to give your website a quick SEO boost. The main benefit of buying an expired domain is getting backlinks, which increases trust with Google.

I bought an expired domain last month, and I’m going to share the exact steps I took to find a good one.

There are lots of expired domain marketplaces, but most of the domains are hundreds or thousands of dollars.

The one I bought was $12.95.

For this example, we’re going to use ExpiredDomains.net. This site is free to browse, but you’ll need to create an account to see the full list of expired domains.

Currently, there are millions of expired domains on this site, so you’ll need to add a few filters.

The first filter I add is the “deleted .com” domains.

Screenshot from expireddomains.net

You can look at other TLDs, but .coms are usually the best quality.

I also set the filter to the last 12–24 hours.

--

--

Nick Nolan

Freelance marketing consultant | Writing about Copywriting, SEO, and Social Media