The Simple Way To Start Freelancing in 2024

Nick Nolan
6 min readJan 3, 2024
Image via Unsplash+ | @viniciusamano

I started freelancing four years ago. Unfortunately, I wasted a ton of time and energy on tactics that didn’t produce any results.

I could’ve gone much further, faster, with less effort.

One of the reasons for the slow start was I was getting too much free advice from people online. There was nothing wrong with what I was learning. The issue was that the strategies were different and impossible to implement at the same time.

I heard LinkedIn was the best place to be, so I started posting on LinkedIn. Someone told me clients don’t take you seriously unless you have a website, so I built a website. I heard about someone making 6-figures on Upwork, so I hopped on Upwork. I heard there were more entrepreneurs scrolling Twitter, so I created a Twitter content strategy.

There might be 12 different paths to getting started as a successful freelancer.

Pick one path and stick to it.

Having tried taking different paths, I’m going to explain the simplest path I’ve discovered. It also requires the least amount of money upfront.

Your two priorities

As a new freelancer, you need two things to grow your business:

  1. Experience
  2. Happy customers

--

--

Nick Nolan

Freelance marketing consultant | Writing about Copywriting, SEO, and Social Media