What Does a Good SEO Audit Include?

11 steps to get your website on the right track

Nick Nolan
8 min readFeb 15, 2023
Photo by Brett Jordan on Unsplash

I’ve been doing at least one SEO audit every week in 2023.

I love digging into websites and helping get people on the right track. You can audit your own site, but I’ve found it’s always helpful to get an outsider’s perspective. When you’ve done everything on your own, you’re usually too close to notice any issues or opportunities for improvement.

These are the 11 areas I check during an SEO audit.

Using the website as a visitor

The first thing I do during a website audit is to actually use the website like a normal person would. I want to get an idea of how it feels before seeing what the SEO tools say about it.

User experience plays an important role in SEO, and the overall success of the website. It’s difficult to do this when you’ve built the site and look at it every day. If you’re doing this on your own, I’d recommend asking an honest friend or colleague to use your website and give you feedback.

I’ll try to put myself in the visitor’s shoes and see if the website offers a good user experience. Click around to different pages, play videos, read articles, download freebies, etc.

--

--

Nick Nolan

Freelance marketing consultant | Writing about Copywriting, SEO, and Social Media