Why You Need To Publish 1,000,000 Words on The Internet

Nick Nolan
7 min readMay 24, 2023
Photo by George Pagan III on Unsplash

After writing millions of words in the past few years and making a full-time income from writing, this is my best advice.

One of my least favorite taglines I see in people’s bio is Aspiring writer.

I went to a friend’s wedding this weekend. It was wonderful, but the wedding officiant made the same deadly mistake. She opened with, “I’ve never officiated a wedding before.”

Oh no.

It’s sort of funny, but also off-putting.

What are people thinking when they hear that?

Oh, great…This is going to suck.

If you’re ever giving a public speech, the worst opening line you can say is, “I’m not a great public speaker.”

It goes the same way with writing.

Don’t aspire to write — just start writing. A lot.

Then, write some more. And more. And more.

Here’s one of my favorite quotes from Gary Halbert:

Write. Write. Write. Write. Write. Write. Write.

I was never an aspiring writer. I started writing blog posts in 2017. No one read them. I wasn’t a successful writer, but I was writing, not aspiring to write.

--

--

Nick Nolan

Freelance marketing consultant | Writing about Copywriting, SEO, and Social Media